Two new Ministries gazetted

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Nov 24 2020
News Two new  Ministries gazetted

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has issued an Extraordinary Gazette Notification, establishing two new Ministries – the Ministry of Public Security and the Ministry of Technology.

The Gazette Notification, dated 20 November, elaborates the scope of the functions and duties of the two new Governmental agencies.

Thereby, the Public Security Ministry is tasked with ensuring public safety, while maintaining law and order by creating an environment suitable for all citizens to live freely.

Four institutions, namely the Sri Lanka Police, the Civil Security Department, the National Police Academy and the Department of the Multipurpose Development Task Force will be assigned to this particular Ministry.

The Technology Ministry will meanwhile establish digital Governance services to effectively manage the health, education, welfare, public services and business sectors.

According to the Gazette Notification, 10 institutions including the Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL), the Sri Lanka Standards Institution, Sri Lanka Telecom and the Department of the Registration of Persons are to be brought under the purview of the Technology Ministry.

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Nov 24 2020

More News