Stiff Opposition to EC Ban

By W.K. Prasad Manju | Published: 2:00 AM Jun 27 2020
News Stiff Opposition to EC Ban

By W.K. Prasad Manju

Several political Party candidates contesting the 5 August General Election have expressed their strong opposition to the Election Commission’s (EC) decision to prohibit the display of preferential numbers at political offices maintained by them.

Sources said, during a meeting between EC officials and General Secretaries of Parties contesting the upcoming Poll, political Party representatives had expressed their opposition to the decision taken by the EC.

They said, SLPP General Secretary, Attorney Sagara Kariyawasam, Legal Secretary of the UNP, Attorney Nissanka Nanayakkara, SJB General Secretary, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, JVP Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayaka, SLMC General Secretary Nizam Kariyappar, PC and General Secretary of the United National Freedom Front, Attorney Maithri Gunaratna, had been among those who had protested against the move by the EC to ban the display of preferential numbers at Party Offices.

They had informed the EC that at no stage in the political history of this country had such a stance been taken and had emphasised that if they are unable to display their preferential numbers ahead of the Election, it has to be construed as a serious issue.

It is also claimed that though EC Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya had somewhat consented to the views expressed by political party representatives, it’s the other two members, Professor Ratnajeevan Hoole and Nalin Abeysekara, PC who had vehemently opposed it.

The General Secretaries of the political parties had decided to further discuss the issue with the EC, during another round of talks, which are due to take place shortly.

By W.K. Prasad Manju | Published: 2:00 AM Jun 27 2020

More News