Sri Lanka to field 9 athletes at Tokyo Paralympics 2020

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Jul 19 2021

The Tokyo Paralympic Games 2020 is scheduled to be held in Japan on completion of the Olympics from 24 August to 5 September. The National Paralympic Committee of Sri Lanka (NPCSL) will be fielding a group of athletes at this event with a view to bringing honour and glory to our motherland.

NPCSL will be sending nine athletes along with Coaches, Managers and Admin officials, making it a 17 strong contingent. The athletes have qualified in Track and Field, Rowing, Archery and Wheel Chair Tennis.

SL qualifies for a Rowing event for the very first time in the history of Paralympics

According to the Chef De Mission Maj. Gen Rajitha Ampemohotti, Sri Lanka will be hoping to better their medal tally (two medals), which they achieved in two previous Paralympics - London 2012 and Rio 2016.

At the 2012 Summer Paralympics in London, Sri Lanka won their first Paralympic medal when Pradeep Sanjaya won the Bronze in the Men's 400m T46. At the 2016 Summer Paralympics in Rio, Sri Lanka won a Bronze when Dinesh Priyantha Herath placed 3rd in the men's javelin throw F46 final.

Lt Col Deepal Herath, the newly elected President of the NPCSL, said that the Sri Lankan contingent is due to leave the Island on 19 August. They have under gone all health regulations specified by the Tokyo Paralympic Organisers and will reside in a bio bubble during the entire period of the Games.

List of athletes who will be taking part in the Tokyo Paralympic 2020

1. MG Sampath Bandara - Archery

2. Dinesh Priyantha Herath - Javelin

3. Samitha Dulan - Javelin

4. Sampath Hettiarachchi - Javelin

5. Kumudu Priyanka - 100m/Long Jump

6. Saman Subasinghe - 400m

7. Palitha Bandara - Shot Put

8. Mahesh Jayakody - Rowing

9. D.S. Dharmasena - 


CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Jul 19 2021

More News