SL – Zimbabwe ODI series: Public Allowed to Watch Series

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Jan 13 2022
Sports SL – Zimbabwe ODI series: Public Allowed to Watch Series

The public will be allowed to watch the forthcoming Sri Lanka Vs Zimbabwe ODI series subject to COVID-19 guidelines, making it the first time since the virus first hit the island in March 2020.

“Tickets to witness the ODI Series, which will commence on the 16th at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, can be purchased via and” said SLC in a media release today .

However, only 50 percent of the maximum capacity at the PICS, Kandy will be allowed to enter the ground to witness the games, and only those who are fully vaccinated against COVID-19 infection as per the current vaccination protocols will be permitted entry into the ground.

Spectators should carry proof of vaccination (either the card or in digital form), and should have completed the 2nd vaccination at least 14 days prior to entering the ground.

The 3-match ODI series was hit by COVID scare even during preparations to finalise dates. Avishka Fernando and Janith Liyanage, both of whom were named in the initial Sri Lanka squad, tested positive for COVID-19 forcing SLC to make necessary changes to the squad. 

To top that, coach Lalchand Rajput too tested positive prior to departure from Zimbabwe and did not travel to Sri Lankan with the team, while all other members had tested negative.

Earlier, the public were first allowed to watch matches during the West Indies Test series played in Galle, followed by LPL, and now ODIs. 

Apart from online, the public in Kandy can purchase tickets from Abitha Ground, Balagolla on match days and Pallekele Stadium prior to match days.

The 3-match ODI series will take place on 16, 18 and 21 January. 

Meanwhile, SLC has released the names of match officials for the series. Ranjan Madugalle has been named ICC Match Referee, while ICC Elite panel umpire Kumar Dhamasena, ICC umpires Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Raveendra Wimalasiri, Lyndon Hannibal and Prageeth Rambukwella, will officiate as umpires. 


CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Jan 13 2022

More News