Skipper Dulaj, mainstay of Rajans batting

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Oct 16 2020
Sports Skipper Dulaj, mainstay of Rajans batting

Rajans skipper Dulaj Bandara showcased his prowess as a batsman in the 2019/20 ‘Singer Trophy’ Under-19 Division One inter Schools Cricket (Two-day) tournament season conducted by Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association.

Dulaj commenced his cricket career at Dharmaraja College Kandy in 2012. He led the college under-13 team in 2014 and graduated to the under-15 team in 2015. He represented the Kandy District team in the under-15 Prima Champion Trophy inter district Cricket tournament and Central Province team in the inter Provincial Cricket tournament conducted by Sri Lanka Cricket in 2015. He led Fingara Cricket Club Colombo (Academy) at the Nelson Mendis Under-14 inter Academy Cricket tournament who became champion in 2015. Dulaj was the highest runs scorer and was adjudged man of the tournament and best bowler of the tournament.

He led the school under 15 team in 2016. He scored 347 runs with a century (101 against D.S. Senanayake College Colombo) and two half centuries. He also took 19 wickets. As skipper of the Kandy District team he scored 330 runs with two centuries and two half centuries. He scored centuries against Nuwara Eliya District and Kandy (Middle) team. He led the Central Province team in 2016, scoring 146 runs with a half century in four matches.

He represented the school under-17 team in 2017, scoring 320 runs with two half centuries and led the team in 2018. He scored 410 runs with three half centuries.

He was co-opted into the college first XI team as a fresher at the age of 15 during the 2016/17 season. He scored more than 450 runs with two half centuries. During the 2017/18 season he scored more than 600 runs with four half centuries. He scored 67 runs against Kingswood Kandy and was adjudged the best batsman of the Limited Overs big match in 2018. He received his school colours as the best batsman of the college in the 2017/18 season. He represented the Central Province team at the provincial tournament held in 2018.

In the 2018/19 season Dulaj was a third year coloursman. He scored more than 650 runs with five half centuries. His best knock was 99 runs against Zahira College Colombo. He was the highest runs scorer for Dharmaraja College Kandy during the season. He was received the best batsman award at the College Colours Night in 2019. He was also selected as the best cricketer 2018/19 and was awarded the ‘The Gopal’ trophy.

Dulaj led the team in the 2019/20 season. Dharmaraja ended as the runner-up in the 6-a-side Olcott Memorial Schools Cricket Tournament 2019 hosted by Mahinda College Galle at the Galle International Cricket Stadium. He scored 690 runs with a century and four half centuries in 15 matches. He scored 108 runs against S. Thomas’ College Mt. Lavinia, and was the highest scorer during the season. He sat the GCE (A/L) examination (Commerce stream) in 2020. 

He thanks everybody who supported him in his career. Former and present Principals S.M. Keerthirathne and Dampiya Wanasinghe, Masters-in-Charge Saliya Samarawickrame, Manjula Udagedara, Attanayake, Amarajeewa Dissanayake, School coaches Ananda Wijesekara, Sanjaya Silva, Wasalathanthri (Under-13), Chalitha Rathnayake, Hasitha (Under-15), Senaka Dissanayake (Under-17), U.S.C. Perera, Thushira de Silva, Chathura Wickramanayake, Buddhika Madhushantha (Under-19), former and current district (Kandy) and provincial coaches (Central), OBA, Past Cricketers’ Association, all teachers, students, team-mates, their parents and his family members.

Player Profile

Player: Dulaj Bandara

School: Dharmaraja College, Kandy

Born on: 2001.02.26

Batting Style: RHB

Bowling Style: RAMF

Matches: 15     

Innings: 20    

Not Outs: 2  

Runs: 690

Ave: 38.3

Highest Score: 108 against S. Thomas’ College Mt. Lavinia   

100s: 1  

50s: 4 (vs D.S. Senanayake Colombo 93, vs Mahinda Galle 57, Vs Nalanda Colombo  52, Vs Maliyadeva Kurunegala 51)

Fared this Season                                  Batting                  

Vs St. Peter’s Bambalapitiya                          37

Vs Rahula Matara                                                35

Vs Dharmasoka Ambalangoda                      29                                       

Vs D.S. Senanayake Colombo                        93

Vs Zahira Colombo                                             35

Vs S. Thomas’ Mt. Lavinia                               108

Vs Prince of Wales Moratuwa                          23

Vs Moratu Vidyalaya                                            03

Vs St. Anne’s Kurunegala                                   04

Vs Mahinda Galle                                                   57

Vs St. Anthony’s Katugastota                           00

Vs Nalanda Colombo                                           52

Vs Dharmapala Pannipitiya                               29

Vs Ananda Colombo                                             35

Vs Maliyadeva Kurunegala                                 51


CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Oct 16 2020

More News