Shammi, Mathivanan Top Contenders for Presidency

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Feb 25 2021
Sports Shammi, Mathivanan Top Contenders for Presidency

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) will elect new office bearers for the next two years on 20 May. The election will commence from 10.30 a.m. at the Duncan White Auditorium of the Ministry of Sports in Colombo, and the list of nominations was submitted yesterday.

Another two-way battle is expected for the top post, with incumbent President Shammi Silva and former Vice President K. Mathivanan in the fray.  

Ceylon Today learns the main contenders from the Shammi Silva Camp are Jayantha Dharmadasa (Vice President), Ravin Wickramaratne (Vice President), Mohan de Silva (Secretary), Krishantha Kapuwatte (Asst. Secretary), Lasantha Wickramasinghe (Treasurer) and Sujeewa Godaliyadda (Asst.Treasurer).

The main contenders from the Mathivanan Camp are Bandula Warnapura (Vice President) and Nishantha Ranatunga (Secretary). 

Meanwhile,Leader of the Jana Setha Peramuna, Venerable Battaramulle Seelarathna Thera, has also handed over his nominations to contest the post of Vice President.The nomination was handed over representing St. Anthony’s Sports Club in the Wanni District of the Northern Province.

The Government’s approach, a wave of changes in the structure, and a writ to appoint a Judicial Committee, have made the battle for control of Maitland Place an enthralling contest. 

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Feb 25 2021

More News