Parliament sits today only

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 12:10 AM Jun 8 2021
News Parliament sits today only

Due to the prevailing COVID-19 situation, the Committee on Parliamentary Business yesterday (7) decided to limit this week’s sittings to only today (8). The meeting was chaired by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

Accordingly, Parliament sittings will be held today (8) from 10.00 a.m. to 4.30 p.m., said Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake. 

The Second Reading of the Fiscal Management (Responsibility) (Amendment) Bill, Resolution, under the Section 8 of the Appropriation Act, No. 6 of 2020a and Regulations under the Imports and Exports (Control) Act, No. 1 of 1969 is scheduled to be taken for debate from 10.00 a.m. to 12.00 noon.

 Dasanayake also stated that the Motion at the Adjournment Time, pertaining to the current situation in the country, will be taken up by the Opposition from 12.00 noon to 4.30 p.m. 

The Secretary General further stated that Questions for Oral Answers has been deferred to another day and the Parliament will continue without a lunch break. 

Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena, Chief Government Whip Johnston Fernando, Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella, Ministers Nimal Siripala de Silva and Prof. G.L. Peiris, Vasudeva Nanayakkara and M.U. M. Ali Sabry, Prasanna Ranatunga and MPs Mano Ganeshan, Ranjith Madduma Bandara, M.A Sumanthiran, Field marshal Sarath Fonseka and Harsha de Silva were present at the meeting.

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 12:10 AM Jun 8 2021

More News