NWPCA felicitates young cricketers

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Oct 27 2020
Sports NWPCA felicitates young cricketers

Young talented cricketers in the North Western Province were felicitated by the North Western Province Cricket Association (NWPCA) at a grand ceremony held at the Ruvisha Beach Hotel in Kochchikade, recently.

The youngsters felicitated were: 

SL cap Minod Bhanuka, U-19 World Cup captain Nipun Dhananjaya Perera (St. Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa), Muditha Premadasa (Maliyadeva Kurunegala - 1,000 runs in Division One), Ayon Fernando (St. Sebastian’s Katuneriya -1,000 runs in Division Two) and Prabuddha Premalal (Ibbagamuwa CC - 1000 runs in Division Three), Sithum Akilanaka (St. Sebastian’s Katuneriya - 100 wickets in Division Two), St. Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa (joint Champion Under-15 Division One tournament), Maliyadeva Kurunegala (joint Champion Under-13 Division One tournament), Wayamba Royal Kurunegala (Runner-up Under-17 Division Three tournament) and Ibbagamuwa Model School (semi-finalist Under-17 Division Three tournament).

Minod Bhanuka, the left-handed wicketkeeper/batsman, is a product of Maliyadeva Kurunegala and St. Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa. He won his national T20 and ODI cap against Pakistan, last year.

The left-handed top order batsman Nipun Dhananjaya Perera led the Sri Lanka Under-19 team at ICC Youth World Cup held in South Africa in 2019 and brought honour to the North Western Province. 

North Western Province emerged runners-up of the Prima All-Island Under-15 Cricket Tournament held last year. The team was led by Chathumal Fernando of St. Sebastian’s Katuneriya, and they were honoured with a trophy and cash awards for their achievement.

Muditha Premadasa, Ayon Fernando, Prabuddha Premalal and Sithum Akilanka received cricket equipment, and St. Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa, Maliyadeva Kurunegala, Wayamba Royal Kurunegala and Ibbagamuwa Model School received cricket material bags.

Aruna de Silva, Head of Administration, Sri Lanka Cricket, was the chief guest at the occasion. Other distinguished guests included Bimal Perera, President NWPCA, Krishantha Kapuwatte, Secretary NWPCA, and Mohammed Siddiq, President Kurunegala District Cricket Association.


CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Oct 27 2020

More News