MI-CSK to kick off UAE leg of IPL 2021

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Jul 26 2021

Defending champions Mumbai Indians will take on three-time winners Chennai Super Kings in Dubai on 19 September to kickstart the second leg of IPL 2021, which was suspended in May this year due to a spate of Coronavirus cases in the bubble. In the schedule, seen by Cricbuzz, the Dubai International Stadium will play host to 13 of the remaining 31 games, including the first qualifier and the final. 

Sharjah will host 10 games including the Eliminator and the second qualifier. The first of seven double-headers are scheduled for 25 September. Like last year, afternoon games will start at 3:30 PM IST (14:00 UAE time), while the regular evening games will begin at 7:30 PM IST (18:00 UAE Time). All teams will play at least one afternoon game, with the current league leaders Delhi Capitals pencilled in to play as many as three. 

CSK, MI, KKR and PBKS will all play two afternoon games each. Besides Delhi Capitals and Punjab Kings, who have played eight games so far, the six other teams have their full set of seven second-half fixtures left to play. All teams will play two games each in Sharjah. Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders, who played their home games in Abu Dhabi, will play three matches at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium this season. The league phase will run until 8 October - a double-header - before the Playoffs begin two days later on 10 October. The final, as previously reported, will be played on 15 October. 

(Cricbuzz)

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Jul 26 2021

More News