Little England hosts event from 20-27 April

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Apr 17 2021

With over 900 shuttlers, this year’s edition of the Summer Season All-Island Open Badminton Championship, organised by Central Province Badminton Association together with Nuwara-Eliya District Badminton Association under the patronage of Sri Lanka Badminton, will take place at the Municipal Council Indoor Stadium in Nuwara-Eliya from 20-27 April.

The organisers have received 1,159 entries, which makes it one of the major events in the Sri Lanka Badminton calendar. A total of 993 shuttlers will be in action. According to the draw which was released by Sri Lanka Badminton, 1,117 matches will be played under 39 categories over the 7 days.

Some of the top shuttlers in the country - including this year’s singles finalist at the Badminton Nationals Rasindu Hendahewa, as well as former top stars of the calibre of Buwaneka Goonathileka, Viren Nettasinghe, Chamath Dias, Ranthushka Sasindu and Dumindu Abeywickrama, light up the men’s singles draw.

Ashini Fernando is seeded at the top in the women’s division, which also includes prominent players such as the 2019 Champion Dilmi Dias, veteran Chandrika de Silva, Chamudi Abeywickrama, Kavindika de Silva, Jananuwani Amanda and Nadeesha Gayanthi.

Following the highly successful completion of key events including the Colourful League Tournament, the 68th Nationals and the Mercantile Tournaments during the pandemic over the past few months, the organisers look forward to witness top class action in Little England this time around too.

The tournament has received approval of the Ministry of Health and the auspices of the Ministry of Sports, ensuring that all COVID protocols are carefully observed by organisers and participants throughout the event.

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Apr 17 2021

More News