Kerawalapitiya thermal power plant: Party reps meet PM to discuss share transfer

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Sep 24 2021
News Kerawalapitiya thermal power plant: Party reps meet PM to discuss share transfer

Representatives of several parties affiliated to the Government yesterday (23) met Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa to discuss the transfer of 40 per cent of shares of the Kerawalapitiya thermal power plant to a US firm. The meeting was held at Temple Trees last evening.

Speaking to the Media after the meeting, National Freedom Front (NFF) Leader, Minister Wimal Weerawansa said they hope to meet President Gotabaya Rajapaksa to discuss the matter, once the latter returns from the US. “We expressed our opinions to the PM. Both the PM and the Finance Minister expressed their views. The PM held a middle ground on the matter,” Weerawansa said. 

Speaking further, the Minister said about 10-11 party leaders in the Government hope to hand over a letter to the President regarding the matter since their opinions and some others’ opinions are different in this connection. We hope to discuss with the President once he returns to the island, he added. However, SLPP General Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam said the power plant will never be sold to any foreign firm.

 “This is only a transfer of 40 per cent of shares for 15 years. This is not a sale. There is no issue here. No one objected to this during the meeting. When the facts were presented to them, all of them understood that it is in the best interests of the country. I think any country will embrace this type of investment,” Kariyawasam said. 

Meanwhile, in a statement the Prime Minister’s Media Division said that during the meeting, the party leaders discussed how the country’s economy should be maintained during COVID-19 pandemic and the Budget 2021. Also, they discussed forming a mechanism for the government MPs to study future Bills before they present them to Parliament. The meeting was held for about two hours. 

SLFP Chairman former President Maithripala Sirisena, SLPP National Organiser Finance Minister Basil Rajapaksa, Chief Government Whip Johnston Fernando, SLPP General Secretary MP Sagara Kariyawasam, Mahajana Eksath Peramuna Leader Minister Dinesh Gunawardena, Democratic Left Front General Secretary Minister Vasudeva Nanayakkara, National Freedom Front Leader Minister Wimal Weerawansa, Lanka Sama Samaja Party General Secretary MP Tissa Vitharana, Eelam People’s Democratic Party General Secretary Minister Douglas Devananda, Deputy President of Ceylon Workers’ Congress MP M. Rameshwaran, United People’s Party Leader MP Tiran Alles and Sri Lanka Communist Party Deputy Chairman Weerasumana Weerasinghe attended the meeting, the PMD said.

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Sep 24 2021

More News