John Keells ‘B’ meet Expolanka Group

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Feb 25 2021

The tournament which commenced way back on 26 September 2020 got derailed on 7 October due to the second wave of the ongoing Pandemic, and re-commenced on 6 February 2021.

Unbeaten John Keells ‘B’ will have a stiff battle on their hands when they meet the confident Expolanka Group in the 3rd Fairfirst Insurance Trophy – MCA ‘F’ Division 25 over League Tournament 2020 Final on 27 February (Saturday) at the MCA Grounds commencing 10:00 a.m.

In the top half semi-final, John Keells ‘B’ chasing 162 to win against Dialog Axiata had to get 18-runs in the last over (144/7 in 24) with Ishane Perera (28) and Dylan Amarasinghe at the wicket. Damith Weerasinghe (5 – 39 – 0) was entrusted with the crucial final over, but lost his nerve and gave away 21 runs (2 wides, 3 no balls, a six and 2 fours) and Keells ended on 165/7 in 25 overs.

In the bottom half semi-final, a firecracker 74 (39 balls; 6x6; 5x4) by skipper Heshan Hewanayake, paved the way for Expolanka Group to put up a daunting 242 for 5 in 24 overs, which proved too hot for MBSL Insurance to handle, and they folded up for a paltry 48 runs in 19.4 overs, thus losing by a massive 194 runs.

John Keells ‘B’ is led by veteran all-rounder P.K. Abeygunasekera (present MCA Tournament Secretary), while Expolanka is led by Heshan Hewanayake. 

John Keells path to final - beat DPMC ‘B’ by 58 runs; SAGT by 19 runs; Deutsche Bank by 21 runs and Ansell Lanka by 5 wickets (league stage); beat HNB ‘B’ by 28 runs on D&L (QF) and beat Dialog Axiata by 3 wickets (semi).

Expolanka path to final - lost to Siam City Cement by 3 wickets, beat Dialog Axiata by 5 wickets, beat MBSL Insurance by 219 runs and Janashakthi Insurance by 107 runs (league stage); beat Acme Printing by 174 runs (PQF), beat Ansell Lanka by 43 runs (QF) and beat MBSL Insurance by 194 runs (semi).

The Match Referee cum Adjudicator is Gamini Dissanayake.

In 2019, Fairfirst Insurance took home their own trophy beating Allianz Insurance by 6 wickets. 

John Keells (from): P.K. Abeygunasekara (Captain), Ravi Subasinghe, Rusiru de Silva, Shamin Athuraliya, Ishara Rashmika (Wicket Keeper), Dylan Amarasinghe, Duran de Alwis, Ishane Perera, Dasun Fernando, Praveen Gunawardena, Rusiru Goonetilleka, Russel Thomas, Darshana Hewawasam, Shamintha Fernando, Ishan Jayawardena, Ishan Perera, Vihaga Weerathunga, Prasad Perera 

Expolanka Group (from): Hashan Hewanayake (Captain), Tharindu Roshan, Lahiru Madushanka, Madhawa Fernando, Trevin Lloyd Speering, Nathan Krishan, Rusthun Miskin, Ramzan Rafaideen, Seniru Mapatuna, Mahdi Namiz, Abdul Qadir, Theruka Vithanage, Mohamed Azmar, Mohamed Insaf, Niroshan John 


CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Feb 25 2021

More News