Inaugural Sabuddhi Circle awards on 11 December

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Nov 30 2020

The Sabuddhi Literature Circle (SLC) has announced that Sri Lanka’s first ever sports literature awards festival will take place on 11 December at the Sports Ministry Duncan White Auditorium at 4.00 p.m. under the aegis of Minister of Sports Namal Rajapaksa.

The aim of this awards festival is to officially recognize the contributions made by sports journalists in their effort to popularize sports literature in the country.

Thirty awards and certificates are to be given under 10 categories for the services rendered by sports journalists during the course of 2019.

The winners are to be selected by an expert panel of judges headed by Harsha B Abeykoon, Prof. Prathibha Mahanamahewa and Prof. Asanga Wijeyaratne. Lecturer Fathima Shanaz would be functioning as senior adviser to the expert panel.

Director of SLC media personality Sirinama Rajapaksa said that the names of the sports journalists who would be competing in the respective award categories have already been identified by the panel of experts.

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Nov 30 2020

More News