Harsha Amarasekera Sampath Bank Chairman: Mohamed Adamaly to Amana Bank Board

By Ishara Gamage | Published: 2:00 AM Aug 29 2020
FT Harsha Amarasekera Sampath Bank Chairman: Mohamed Adamaly to Amana Bank Board

By Ishara Gamage

Sampath Bank PLC announced the appointment of Harsha Amarasekera as its new chairman with effect from 30 August 2020 replacing Professor Malik Ranasinghe.

Professor Ranasinghe, who retires today (30) has served in this position since 02 April 2019. Before assuming duties as its Chairman, Professor Ranasinghe was the Deputy Chairman of the Bank from 01 August 2016, during which he imbibed a deep understanding of the Bank’s core values which made him the natural choice for Chairman. Prior to his involvement with Sampath Bank, he was the Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa.

During his tenure, the bank went from strength to strength and Professor Ranasinghe believed in empowering the management of the Bank to make independent decisions while he remained a solid, supportive force. This far sighted thinking built a team of strong professionals finely honed to achieve the banks objectives.

Prior to his retirement, Professor Ranasinghe served as the Chairman of the Board Credit Committee, Board Capital Planning Committee, Board Strategic Planning Committee and was a member of the Board Nomination Committee, Board Related Party Transactions Review Committee, Board Treasury Committee and the Board IT Committee.

Sampath Bank Deputy Chairperson Dhara Wijethilake is also retiring from her post as per Central Bank regulations. New chairperson President’s Counsel Harsha Amarasekera, is a leading lawyer who specialises in Commercial Law, Business Law, Securities Law, Banking Law and Intellectual Property Law.

Amarasekera was admitted to the bar in November 1987 and took oaths as a President’s Counsel in November 2012. He also serves as an Independent Director of several leading listed companies in the Colombo Stock Exchange, including Vallibel One PLC, Royal Ceramics PLC, Expo Lanka Holdings PLC, Chevron Lubricants Lanka PLC, Taprobane Holdings PLC, Amana Bank PLC, Amaya Leisure PLC and Vallibel Power Erathna PLC. He also the Chairman of CIC Agri-Business (Private) Limited and Swisstek Aluminium Limited.

He was also a director at Amana Bank PLC since its inception until his retirement from the post in February this year. Meanwhile, Amana Bank PLC has appointed Mohamed Adamaly, a leading legal professional, as a Non-Executive Director.

Adamaly Graduated from the Faculty of Law University of Colombo with Honours while also achieving First Class Honours from the Sri Lanka Law College before being admitted as an Attorney-at-law of the Supreme Court of Sri Lanka in 1994. He has served as a visiting lecturer at the University of Colombo and at the Sri Lanka Law College. He also holds a Postgraduate Diploma in Marketing from the Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM UK) and is a leading lecturer for CIM and formerly lectured at CIMA Sri Lanka.

By Ishara Gamage | Published: 2:00 AM Aug 29 2020

More News