For Avurudu season commuters: SLTB deploys 600 additional buses, SLR adds 47 train runs

By Upatissa Perera and Krishan Pathirath Jayasuriya | Published: 2:00 AM Apr 12 2021

By Upatissa Perera and Krishan Pathirath Jayasuriya

The Sri Lanka Transport Board (SLTB) said that 600 additional buses have been deployed to transport people going to their villages during the New Year season. 

It is reported that about 1,150 buses including those that run according to daily timetables are in operation at present. 

The SLTB said that these buses have been deployed from Colombo covering all areas and in addition, based on requests from passengers, running of these buses can either be increased or decreased.  

The SLTB began this process of deploying additional buses from Friday (9).

The Railway Department (SLR) said that about 47 additional trains will be running during this New Year season and that these trains will operate from Colombo Fort and will be in operation in addition to daily railway timetables. 

Accordingly, these additional trains will cover areas such as Badulla, Kandy, Anuradhapura, Jaffna, Beliatta, Matara, Galle and Nanuoya. 

The Railway Department said further that during the Avurudu period three additional trains will run between Kalutara South and Veyangoda. 

The Lanka Private Bus Owners’ Association (LPBOA), expressing its views on fulfilling passengers’ requirements during the New Year season, said that while buses will run according to normal timetables, additional buses will definitely be deployed based on passengers’ requirements. 

The LPBOA has said that arrangements will be made to operate these buses from Colombo so as to cover all areas. 

By Upatissa Perera and Krishan Pathirath Jayasuriya | Published: 2:00 AM Apr 12 2021

More News