Football returns with ‘FFSL President’s Cup 2020’

By Mustaq Sydeen | Published: 2:00 AM Jul 6 2020
Sports Football returns with ‘FFSL President’s Cup 2020’

By Mustaq Sydeen

After almost a four month hiatus with no news of when the football calendar will resume, things are expected to change from 26 July, when Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) are returning to action with an invitational pre-sessional tournament titled ‘FFSL President’s Cup 2020’ involving 20 top teams islandwide.

Matches are scheduled to be played at the Sugathadasa Stadium and Racecourse International Stadium adhering strictly to Government health regulations. All matches will be played behind closed doors.

According to the media release, to make the event a success FFSL has offered financial support to all teams for preparation, participation and travel costs to Colombo for all matches.

Based on the last available points table, the top 24 teams had been invited to take part in this competition and a meeting summoned on 30 June. Representatives of 20 teams had attended the meeting, and it was the unanimous opinion that all those present for the meeting be eligible to participate in the event.

Worldwide sports action is gradually returning to our TV screens after the coronavirus pandemic brought virtually all competition to a sudden halt. FFSL has also arranged live streaming platforms for selected matches through their official YouTube Channel ‘Sri Lanka Football TV’ for fans to finally witness some football action after a long lay-off.

 20 Teams taking part in the tournament:

Defenders FC (SL Army FL), Colombo FC (City FL), Blue Star SC (Kalutara FL),  Sea Hawks FC (SL Navy FL), Renown SC (City FL), Ratnam SC (Colombo FL), Up Country Lions SC (Nawalapitiya FL), Blue Eagles SC (SL Air Force FL), Red Stars FC (Beruwela FL), New Youngs FC (Wennappuwa FL), Matara City Club (Matara FL), Java Lane SC (City FL), Saunders SC (City FL), SL Police SC (SL Police FL), Serendib SC (Mawanella FL), Crystal Palace FC (Gampola FL), Super Sun SC (Beruwela FL), New Star SC (Colombo FL), SLTB SC (NSSA), Moragasmulla SC (City FL)

By Mustaq Sydeen | Published: 2:00 AM Jul 6 2020

More News