Finally, a win for Sri Lanka after nervy chase

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:10 AM Jul 24 2021
Sports Finally, a win for Sri Lanka after nervy chase

Avishka Fernando (76) and Bhanuka Rajapaksa (65) powered Sri Lanka’s chase, and despite a flurry of wickets in the latter part, Sri Lanka secured their first win in the series as they beat India by three wickets in the third ODI played at R. Premadasa Stadium yesterday.

Chasing India’s 225, Sri Lanka were cruising at one stage with 1 for 144 on the board, but with the dismissal of Rajapaksa, they kept losing wickets with skipper Dasun Shanaka bagging a golden duck.

 After being 3 down for 194 with just 31 more to get, Sri Lanka lost four more wickets including that of set batsman Fernando. Sri Lanka had nervy chase towards the end. and it was left to No.9 Akila Dananjaya to allay nerves by scoring a boundary off the first delivery he faced, to give some form of relief for Sri Lanka. Earlier Spinners Praveen Jayawickrama and Akila Dananjaya played a key role and helped Sri Lanka to bowl out India for 225 runs. 

In a rain hampered ODI, opener Prithvi Shaw was the highest scorer with 49, while Sanju Samson (46) and Suryakumar Yadav (40) chipped in with useful contributions. 

Sri Lanka bowlers kept it tight as India, who were once riding strong with one for 102 in the 16th over, soon saw them 8 down for 195 in the 33rd over. Some commendable batting by the lower order guided them to 225, before Dushmantha Chameera wrapped up the tail.

Sri Lanka 

Avishka Fernando c Shaw b Chahar 76 

Minod Bhanuka c Sakariya b Gowtham 07

 Bhanuka Rajapaksa Gowtham b Sakariya 65 

Dhananjaya de Silva c&b Sakariya 02 

Charith Asalanka lbw Pandya 24 

Dasun Shanaka c Pandey b Chahar 00 

Ramesh Mendis not out 15 

Chamika Karunarathne st. Samson b Chahar 03 

Akila Dananjaya not out 05 

Extras (b4, lb6, nb5, w15) 30 Total (for 7 wickets in 39 overs) 227 Fall of wickets: 1-35, 2-144, 3-151, 4-194, 5-195, 6-214, 7-220 Bowling: Navdeep Saini 5-0-27-0, Chetan Sakariya 8-0-34-2, Rahul Chahar 10-0-54-3, Krishnappa Gowtham 8-0-49-1, Hardik Pandya 5-0-43-1, Nitish Rana 3-0-10-0  


Prithivi Shaw lbw Shanaka 49 

Shikar Dhawan c Bhanuka b Chameera 13 

Sanju Samson c Fernando b Jayawickrama 46 

Manish Pandey c Bhanuka b Jayawickrama 11 

Suryakumar Yadav lbw b Dananjaya 40 

Hardik Pandya lbw b Jayawickrama 19 

Nitish Rana c Bhanuka b Dananjaya 07 

Krishnappa Gowtham lbw b Dananjaya 02 

Rahul Chahar c&b Dananjaya 13 

Navdeep Saini c Fernando b Chameera 15 

Chetan Sakariya not out 00

Extras (lb1, w9) 10 Total (all out in 43.1 overs) 225 Fall of Wicket :1-28, 2-102, 3-118, 4-157, 5-179, 6-190, 7-194, 8-195, 9-224, 10-225 Bowling: Dushmantha Chameera 8.1-0-55-2, Akila Dananjaya 10-0-44-3, Chamika Karunarathne 6-0- 25-1, Praveen Jayawickrama 10-0-59-3, Dasun Shanaka 8-0-33-1, Ramesh Mendis 1-0-8-0

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:10 AM Jul 24 2021

More News