Daya and Anusha resign

By Sulochana Ramiah Mohan | Published: 2:00 AM Jun 19 2021

By Sulochana Ramiah Mohan

Captain Nihal Keppetipola has been appointed as the 27th Chairman of Sri Lanka Ports Authority (SLPA), following the resignation of General Daya Ratnayake from the post.

General Ratnayake, formerly a Commander of the Sri Lanka Army (2013- 2015) has a distinguished career record and had held key positions. He assumed duties as SLPA Chair in December 2019. The new SLPA Chairman Captain Kappetipola told Ceylon Today that he has received instructions about the post and is waiting for the official appointment letter. 

Captain Kappetipola, who is currently the Chairman of the Ceylon Fishery Harbours Corporation, earlier served as the SLPA’s Harbour Master, Director Operations and Managing Director between 1990 -2015.

 Ceylon Today also learns that Additional Managing Director Operations and Administration Upul Jayatissa is tipped to become the Managing Director of SLPA. Meanwhile, the Secretary to the Ministry of Industries Anusha Palpita has written to President Rajapaksa requesting for a premature retirement.  

By Sulochana Ramiah Mohan | Published: 2:00 AM Jun 19 2021

More News