Cricketers agree to sign tour declaration

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 12:33 AM Jun 8 2021

The National cricket team will finally take wing to England to take part in the upcoming T20I and ODI series, after players reportedly agreed to sign a tour declaration following a discussion held with Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) yesterday in Colombo.

According to sources, SLC has informed all players who are taking part in the England series (in writing), they will disclose the player evaluation once they return from England Even Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa took to twitter to express his disappointment. “Disappointed that SLC players and Sri Lanka Cricket haven’t succeeded in reaching consensus on new player contracts. 

Motivating our players through competitive compensation is important but should not be the deciding factor to represent country. Players should always put country first”. 

The Sports Minister expressed these views after the tense meeting which took place in Colombo with the cricketers and SLC officials. The cricketers had earlier refused to sign central contracts offered by the country’s Cricket Board citing a lack of transparency in the manner in which categories have been allocated. 

According to SLC, they offered 24 leading players contracts under four categories and had given them a deadline until 3 June to sign (which was later extended). As per these categories, six players are in the highest Category A, where they will receive an annual remuneration ranging between $70,000-100,000. 

Dhananjaya de Silva and Niroshan Dickwella are the only two cricketers in this category, whereas others are in the $70,000-80,000 range. In a collective statement the players had earlier stated they have “decided not to sign the tour contract for the forthcoming tour of England, and neither will they enter into any future contracts for tours.” Ceylon Today reliably learns if the dispute is not sorted in due course, it could well affect Sri Lanka’s bilateral series with India in July, where six white-ball matches are to be played.

 As per schedule, the team will take wing to England today to play three ODIS and three T20s, commencing 23 June. Wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera, who was recently named captain for the Bangladesh series, will lead the side. (CT Sports)

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 12:33 AM Jun 8 2021

More News