CMTA holds 101st AGM virtually: Vows to lobby for industry survival

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:10 AM Jul 27 2021
FT CMTA holds 101st AGM virtually: Vows to lobby for industry survival

The Ceylon Motor Traders’ Association (CMTA) said it has decided to continue to lobby for the survival of the industry, which has been hard-hit by prevailing import restrictions. Sharing his thoughts, at its recently held AGM, CMTA Chairman, Yasendra Amerasinghe said, “Exactly a year ago today, we held our centenary AGM. 

While we all shared a sense of disappointment that the 100th AGM could not be carried out with the pomp and circumstance that our prestigious organisation deserves, we adapted to the changing times, and held the very first virtual AGM in the history of the Association. At the time, we had hopes that the import suspensions that the Government had imposed in March 2020 would only last for a short time. 

Unfortunately, it would not be the case. However, we set out at the start of the year with a theme of UNITY in COMMUNITY, to come together and focus on the things that we can change.” “I would like to congratulate all the newly appointed office-bearers on behalf of the CMTA. 

The road ahead is by no means easy, but crucibles like these can play defining roles for our character,” he said. CMTA, one of the oldest automotive associations in South Asia, comprising companies who are the franchise holders of global automobile manufacturers, held its 101st Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 30 June 2021. During the AGM, which was held virtually, Yasendra Amerasinghe, Director/CEO of Carmart (Pvt) Ltd was re-elected as the Chairman, Charaka Perera, Director/COO, Stafford Motor Co. Ltd. was elected as the Senior Vice Chairman and Virann De Zoysa, General Manager, Associated Motorways (Pvt) Ltd was elected as the Vice Chairman. 

Further, the following members were appointed to the Executive Committee for the year 2021/22; Bri Ponnambalam - Director, McLarens Lubricants (Pvt) Ltd, Reeza Rauf - Director Sales & Marketing, Senok Trade Combine Pvt Ltd, Manohara Atukorala - Managing Director/CEO, Toyota Lanka (Pvt) Ltd, Gihan Pilapitiya - General Manager, United Motors Lanka PLC., Andrew Perera - Executive Director/COO of Kia Motors (Lanka) Ltd, Anushka Polonowita - COO of Drive One (Pvt) Ltd, Rajeev Aloysius - Joint Managing Director, The Autodrome PLC, Ravi Perera - CEO of Access Motors (Pvt) Ltd, Priyantha Perera - Executive Director, Sathosa Motors PLC, Lakmal De Silva - DGM of David Pieris Motor Co Ltd, Tharanga Goonewardena - Sales Director of Diesel & Motor Engineering Co PLC and Teranka Carim - CEO – Automobiles, IWS Holdings (Pvt) Ltd.

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:10 AM Jul 27 2021

More News