Chandana de Silva appointed Chairman of Janashakthi Group

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Jan 22 2021
FT Chandana de Silva appointed Chairman of Janashakthi Group

Janashakthi Limited announced the appointment of Chandana de Silva as the Group’s Chairman with effect from 1 January 2021. Prakash Schaffter will continue to focus on its Group of Companies in his executive role as Deputy Chairman/ CEO. 

Chandana de Silva holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics and Management from the University of London, United Kingdom and is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and in Sri Lanka. He has over 25 years of Managerial and Financial experience acquired in Sri Lanka and the United Kingdom, including that of Chief Financial Officer of a Nasdaq quoted data communication services company during his 23 years of work experience in the United Kingdom. 

After moving back to Sri Lanka in 2002, he worked in a variety of leadership roles including his role as a consultant specialising in Institution Building, Good Governance, Talent Management and Planning for success in family businesses. Furthermore, Chandana de Silva is an Independent Director on the Boards of First Capital Holdings PLC and its subsidiaries, Kelsey Developments PLC, Eureka Technologies (Pvt) Limited, 24/7 Techies (Pvt) Limited and Bairaha Farms PLC. 

Following the recent appointments, the Board of Directors of Janashakthi Limited comprises Chandana de Silva, Prakash Schaffter, Eardley Perera, Ramesh Schaffter, Saliya Wickramasuriya, Dinesh Schaffter and Piranavan Sivagananathan. The Group founder Chandra Schaffter continues as Chairman Emeritus.  

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 2:00 AM Jan 22 2021

More News