18-member De-Regulation Commission to simplify laws

YD | Published: 9:28 AM Jan 8 2021
Local 18-member De-Regulation Commission to simplify laws

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa yesterday (7) appointed an 18-member De-Regulation Commission for the Simplification of the Existing Laws and Regulations in the interest of the people.

The Commission is co-chaired by former Secretary to the President and Principal Advisor to the President Lalith Weeratunga and Chairman of John Keells Group Krishan Balendra. The Committee appointed have been allocated with a total of six tasks, however, the main three tasks are as follows:

The Committee is required to assess whether the issuance of regulations and circular instructions has resulted in over-regulation and deviated from the scope and objectives of original legislations.

It will also assess the relevance of such regulations in the context of global standards and their applicability of them in the Sri Lankan context to identify new rooms to adapt to make the most effective modern regulatory systems.

President Rajapaksa has given the Commission a 90 days period to fulfill the task assigned and has issued instructions to relevant agencies as required for the purpose of executing the task entrusted.

YD | Published: 9:28 AM Jan 8 2021

More News