SL team off to England

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 12:10 AM Jun 9 2021

Sri Lanka's 24-member squad left the island yesterday to England to participate in three T20I and three ODIs. The Selectors have continued to drop seniors and stick with a young squad.

Kusal Janith Perera has been entrusted with the leadership once again as on the Bangladesh tour. Players had a stormy meeting with SLC officials on Monday regarding their contracts, and after heated arguments they finally signed a tour declaration on the written assurance SLC will provide transparency into contract categories and other issues upon their arrival from the tour.

 The team includes uncapped bowling all-rounder Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayarathne, former under-19 skipper Charith Asalanka, Shiran Fernando and Man of the Match from the last SL Test against Bangladesh, Praveen Jayawickrama. Meanwhile, SLC also announced final dates of the second edition of the Lanka Premier League.

 “The tournament will be held from 30 July to 22 August 2021. The inaugural edition of the LPL, Sri Lanka’s topmost domestic T20 League with an international flavor, was conducted last year at the MRICS, Hambantota, with the participation of 5 teams. Health protocols for the second edition of the LPL will be planned based on the directions of the Ministry of Health,” SLC stated in a media release.

 Squad: Kusal Janith Perera (Captain), Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Oshada Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayarathne, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya and Praveen Jayawickrama

CEYLON TODAY | Published: 12:10 AM Jun 9 2021

More News