Lanka Premier League 2021: Anil Mohan reveals reason behind Dambulla Viiking termination

By Mustaq Sydeen | Published: 2:00 AM Dec 3 2021
Sports Lanka Premier League 2021: Anil Mohan reveals reason behind Dambulla Viiking termination

By Mustaq Sydeen 

Anil Mohan, Founder and CEO, Innovative Production Group (Rights Holder of the LPL), says the reason behind Dambulla Viiking termination from this year’s Lanka Premier League (LPL), is because their owner’s name appeared in a money laundering case. He disclosed this during a media briefing that took place in Colombo yesterday.

 “Telugu Warriors(the former owner of Dambulla Viiking franchise during the inaugural Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2020 season), there was a problem with the owner, where his name appeared in Indian newspapers and he was arrested. So, due to that, we’ve taken the decision that they should not be have involved in this year’s LPL. 

We don’t want to spoil the LPL name, so this is the reason we didn’t go with them this year. We had some issues from the Anti-Corruption Unit of ICC also, and that’s the reason we didn’t go with them.” The second edition of the Lanka Premier League 2021, Sri Lanka’s topmost domestic T20 tournament with an international flavour, will kick-off on 5 December at the R. Premadasa International cricket stadium, Colombo, with a spectacular opening ceremony. Following the opening ceremony, the inaugural game of this year’s edition will be played between the Jaffna Kings and Galle Gladiators, who were the champions and runnerup, respectively during last year’s competition. 

The tournament will feature top notch Sri Lankan and International stars, and also provide opportunities for the young and emerging stars of Sri Lanka. Reportedly two African players have informed SLC that they will not participate in this year’s LPL due to flights being cancelled or downscaled across the continent amid new restrictions and uncertainty over the spread of the Omicron variant of the coronavirus. However, the players currently playing in the T10 League in Abu Dhabi will be available to take part. 

Colombo Stars, Jaffna Kings, Galle Gladiators, Kandy Warriors and Dambulla Giants will be competing for the LPL title 2021. The first Leg of the tournament will be played at the RPICS, Colombo, whilst the tournament will move to MRICS, Hambanthota, for the knock-out stage, where the eliminator, qualifier 1 and 2, and the finals will be played. The Day games will be starting at 3.00 p.m. and the night games at 7.30 p.m. The tournament will be shown live across the globe.

By Mustaq Sydeen | Published: 2:00 AM Dec 3 2021

More News