Thinura, Chanithma clinch Yeti Open squash titles


Thinura Randima of Nalanda College and Chanithma Sinaly of Sirimavo Bandaranayake Vidyalaya clinched the Boys’ and Girls’ Under-19 titles respectively at the inaugural Yeti Open Junior Squash Championships, which concluded at the SSC Courts in Maitland Place.
Bottom seed Randima defeated top seed Nevindu Lakman from D.S. Senanayake College in the Boys’ final, while Sinlay cruised to a comfortable victory over Anargi Perera of Visaka Vidyalaya.
All top three winners in their respective categories walked away with valuable trophies and certificates, while certificates were awarded to the top eight players in all age group categories.

(Girls’ Under-11 Novices): Winner: Taveesha Goonasekera, Runner-up: Lindi Perera

(Boys’ Under-11 Novices): Winner: Nevan Rubasinghe, Runner-up: Nisai Munasinghe

(Boys’ Under-15 Novices): Winner: Sandanu Gunarathna, Runner-up: Dhakshina Perera

(Girls’ Under-9): Winner: Nethanya Wickramasinghe, Runner-up: Thinalee Daswatte  

(Boys’ Under-9): Winner: Danuja Sethsara, Runner-up: Ranuk Mendis  

(Girls’ Under-11): Runner-up: Chanumi Nimthara. Winner: Navya Ganegoda

(Boys’ Under-11): Winner: Harshitha Karunathilaka, Runner-up: Akayne Konara.

(Girls’ Under-13): Winner: Nirushi Wickramasinghe, Runner-up: Ifra Booso

(Boys’ Under-13): Winner: Sandira Dassanayake, Runner-up: Linuka Silva

(Girls’ Under-15): Winner: Nirushi Wickramasinghe, Runner-up: Kavithma Silva

(Boys’ Under-15): Winner: Matheesha Wijesekara, Runner-up: M.B.B. Nanayakkara.

(Girls’ Under-17): Winner: R. I. Wood, Runner-up: Adhithi Gunasekera

(Boys’ Under-17): Winner: Matheesha Wijesekara, Runner-up: Mohamed Rilwan

(Girls’ Under-19): Winner: Chanithma Sinaly, Runner-up: Anargi Perera  

(Boys’ Under-19): Winner: Thinura Randina, Runner-up: Nevindu Lakman