Rohini Kaviratne elected Chair


MP Rohini Kaviratne was elected as the new Chairperson of the Parliamentary Caucus for Children.

Kaviratne’s name for the post was proposed by MP Udaya Gammanpila and seconded by MP Kins Nelson.

Also, MP Dr. Sudarshani Fernandopulle was appointed for the position of Co-Vice President of the Caucus. Her name was proposed by Kaviratne and seconded by Nelson.

The other member who was appointed as the Co-Vice President of the Caucus was MP Velu Kumar. Nelson proposed his name and Ashok Abeysinghe seconded. The above appointments were made when the Parliamentary Caucus for Children met this week for the first time for the Ninth Parliament to find solutions to the problems related to children in the country by contacting the relevant ministries and other institutions with the aim of creating a better tomorrow for the children of Sri Lanka. Addressing the committee, Kaviratne said the most affected by the economic crisis are the children of this country. Accordingly, she said through this committee, steps are expected to be taken for the future of the children.

At the outset of the meeting, the Secretary of the Caucus, Chief of Staff and Deputy Secretary-General of Parliament, Kushani Rohanadeera, said the Parliamentary Caucus for Children, which was started in the Seventh Parliament, was successfully implemented in the Eighth Parliament as well.

Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa, who participated in the meeting, said he hope to support the Parliamentary Caucus for Children. MP Mayantha Dissanayake said proposals on the future activities of the Caucus can be presented on the next meeting day. MPs Chandima Weerakkody, J.C. Alawathuwala, K. Sujith Sanjaya Perera, Hesha Withanage, and W.H.M. Dharmasena were present at the meeting.