Sri Lanka to face India in opener on 1 October


Sri Lanka will take on India in the second game on day one (1 October) of the women’s Asia Cup 2022, while reigning champion and host Bangladesh will play the tournament opener against Thailand.

Earlier, Sri Lanka made three changes to the side that travelled to Birmingham for the Commonwealth Games in July-August, when they named their 15-member squad.

Wicketkeeper-batter Kaushani Nuthyangana, left-arm seamer Tharika Sewwandi and all-rounder Madushika Methtananda came in for the veteran pairing of Ama Kanchana and Udeshika Prabodhani, and 17-year-old Vishmi Gunaratne.

The rest of the side remains unchanged, with Chamari Athapaththu leading a squad consisting of batters Hasini Perera and Harshitha Samarawickrama, and all-rounders Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Malsha Shehani and Methtananda, as well as Sanjeewani and Nuthyangana.

The tournament has seven teams in a round robin format where they play six games each, with the top-four qualifying for the semis. The semi-finals will be played on 13 October and the title clash on 15 October.

The Women’s Asia Cup has been played in the T20 format since 2012. Though the 2012 version had eight teams split in two groups and semi-finals in it, the last two editions (2016 and 2018) had fewer teams and just the top-two sides fighting it out in the final.

Joining six-time winners India, hosts Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand are Malaysia and UAE, who made it to the tournament through the qualifying event – the ACC Women’s T20 Championship.

For the first time since 2018, Bangladesh will host women’s matches, with all games set to be played in Sylhet – at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium and Sylhet Outer Cricket Stadium. Hosts Bangladesh are also the defending champions as they edged out six-time champions India in a tense final in 2018. The subsequent 2020 edition couldn’t be held due to the pandemic.


October 1  Bangladesh vs Thailand  / India vs Sri Lanka

October 2 – Pakistan vs Malaysia  / Sri Lanka vs UAE

October 3 – Pakistan vs Bangladesh  / India Malaysia

October 4 – Sri Lanka vs Thailand  / India vs UAE

October 5 – UAE vs Malaysia

October 6 – Pakistan vs Thailand  / Bangladesh vs Malaysia

October 7 – Thailand vs UAE  / India vs Pakistan

October 8 – Sri Lanka vs Malaysia / India vs Bangladesh

October 9 – Thailand vs Malaysia  / Pakistan vs UAE

October 10 – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh  / India vs Thailand

October 11 – Bangladesh vs UAE  / Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

October 13 – SF 1: Team 1 vs Team 4  / SF 2: Team 2 vs Team 3

October 15 – Final