Lisira, Dahamdi crowned champs


 Lisara Kodithuwakku (Royal College) and WCM K.M. Dahamdi Sanudula (Musaeus College) were crowned Men’s and Women’s champs at the Sri Lanka National Blitz Chess Championships 2022 organized by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka (CFSL). The event was held on 18 September at Shrasthrananda Nawodya Maha Vidyalaya, Dehiwala.

 In the open event, 324 players competed for nine rounds. Lisara Kodithuwakku was unbeaten throughout the event and scored a perfect score of 9/9. Three players were tied for 2nd and 3rd place respectively. S. Sivathanujan, D. C. J. Karunarathne and A.A.H.M.B. Senarathne scored 8 points, but with the better tie break Sivathanujan (Grand Prix Chess Club) was declared first runner-up and D.C.J. Karunarathne (Blue & Gold Chess Club) second runner-up.

 In the women’s event, 114 players competed for seven rounds. WCM Dahamdi was unbeaten throughout the event and scored a perfect score of 7/7. Four players were tied for 2nd and 3rd places respectively. M. Esandi Newansa, Tharuli Vihasna Ranganath, Oneli Vithanawasam and Nemindi Linaya Ramanayake scored 6 points, but with a better tie-break M Esandi Newansa (Dharmasoka College) and Tharuli Vihasna Ranganath (Yoshida Shokanji International) secured the first and second runner-up places.

 The tournament was played under the standard control of 3 min plus 2-sec increment from move 01.

 In addition to trophies, medals and certificates, a cash fund of Rs 48,000.00 was divided among the winners.