Term of CoI on findings of HR commissions extended


The term of the three-member Commission of Inquiry (CoI) appointed by the former President Gotabaya Rajapaksa to investigate, inquire into and report or take necessary action on the findings of preceding Commissions or Committees appointed to probe human rights violations, serious violations of International Humanitarian Law (IHL) and other such offences, was extended by President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Accordingly, an extraordinary Gazette notification issued by the President extending the term of the commission up to 31 December 2022 for tendering the final report on completion of the tasks assigned to the Commission of Inquiry established in terms of Section 2 of the Commission of Inquiry Act (Chapter 393) on 20 January 2021. According to the Extraordinary Gazette dated 21 January 2021, former President Gotabaya Rajapaksa appointed Supreme Court Judge A.H.M.D. Nawaz as the Chairman of the Commission while retired Inspector General of Police Chandra Fernando and retired District Secretary Nimal Abeysiri were appointed as the other members.