Chameera, Kumara back in SL squad


Sri Lanka on Friday named pace bowlers Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara in their 15-man squad for the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia in the hope that the duo recover in time for the tournament starting next month.

Both Chameera and Kumara missed the recent Asia Cup, which Sri Lanka won for the sixth time with a 23-run victory over Pakistan last Sunday.

Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando are named as players on standby. However, only Bandara and Jayawickrama will travel with the squad to Australia.

Most of the players from the Asia Cup 2022 feature in the T20 World Cup squad. The ones to miss out on both the main squad and reserve group are Matheesha Pathirana, who made his debut at the Asia Cup, Nuwan Thushara and Asitha Fernando.

Dinesh Chandimal, the veteran middle-order batter, who made a return to the T20I squad in the Asia Cup, only finds a place in the list of standby players.

The impressive left-arm quick Dilshan Madushanka retains his place in the squad after a great outing in the UAE. Dhananjaya de Silva and Jeffrey Vandersay retain their places after coming in for the Asia Cup.

Key fast bowler Chameera’s ankle injury hasn’t healed completely and his return will depend on his fitness in a month’s time. Despite his and Lahiru Kumara’s doubtful participation, the squad has several pace options, with Madushanka, Pramod Madushan and Chamika Karunaratne named in the list.

Sri Lanka, who won the T20 World Cup in 2014, have two warm-up games in Melbourne before they begin their World Cup campaign with a qualifying match against Namibia on 16 Oct.

Squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera (subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (subject to fitness), Dilshan Madushanka and Pramod Madushan.

Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando