‘National Council’ resolution debate on 20 Sept


The resolution to constitute the Parliament Committee titled ‘National Council’ has been scheduled for 20 September.

Party Leaders who met yesterday (14) decided to debate and pass the resolution on 20 September.

The National Council will consist of the Speaker as Chair, the Prime Minister, Leader of the House of Parliament, the Leader of the Opposition, the Chief Government Whip and not more than thirty-five (35) Members of Parliament representing the Ninth Parliament from recognised political parties in Sri Lanka as determined by the Leaders of the political parties.

The National Council shall have the jurisdiction and general responsibilities to determine the general priorities of Parliament to guide the formulation of short, medium and long-term national policies, agree on short and medium-term common minimum programmes in respect of the stabilisation of the economy; and arrange special meetings with the Ministers of the Cabinet of Ministers, the National Council, the Chairpersons of the Special Committees and Youth observers of Youth Organisations.

The National Council shall have powers to request reports from Sectoral Oversight Committees, the Committee on Public Finance (COPF), the Committee on Public Accounts (COPA), the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE), the Committee on Banking and Financial Services, The Committee on Ways and Means, The Committee on Economic Stabilization; and Any Committee controlling Public Finance.