Pallebowala Central champs


 Pallebowala Central emerged champions at the 51st T.B. Jayah Memorial All-Island Boxing Championship 2022 which took place at the Jayathilake Stadium in Nawalapitiya recently. 430 boxers representing 81 schools took part in this annual event.

Winners collected 4 Gold and 1 Silver. Runner-up Trinity won 3 Gold, 1 Silver and 1 Bronze. Mahanama College dropped down to third place with 3 Gold and 1 Silver.

Winners bagged their four golds through N.P.G.M.M. Bandara, J.M.T. Deshan, H.G.K.K. Gunawardhana and J.I.D. Rathnayake, while the silver medal was won by K.G.S.K. Heshan Silva.

Gold Medals for Trinity were won by R.S. Weerasekera (39-41KG), R.N. Weerasekera (48-51 KG) and S. Jagnath Varshith (60-63KG), while the silver was won by P. Sooriyabandara (50-52 KG) and the Bronze by Salman Faris (46-48 KG). The youngest Trinity boxer Zenel Zakeer (12) won his preliminary bout. 

By Special Correspondent