No prize money for CWG Medalists?


The Sri Lankan contingent that won 1 silver and 3 bronze medals at the Commonwealth Games 2022 are still awaiting news regarding prize money, despite several weeks having passed since the Games concluded.

Para Athlete Palitha Bandara won Silver in the Men’s Discus Throw F44/64 event, Weight lifter Dilanka Isuru Kumara won Bronze in the men’s 55kg event, while female wrestler Nethmi Fernando won bronze in the 57 kg freestyle.

Sprinter Yupun Abeykoon was the other Bronze medalist in the 100m – the first Sri Lankan to win a 100m medal at the Commonwealth Games.

In 2021, in order to motivate athletes, a new prize money scheme was introduced by Namal Rajapaksa, Minister of Sports in that a Commonwealth Games Bronze medalist will receive Rs. 5 million, a silver medalist will receive Rs. 10 million and a Gold Medalist will receive Rs. 15 million. 

In the last edition of the Commonwealth Games (2018), at a ceremony held at the Presidential Secretariat attended by H.E. the President, a Silver medalist received Rs.4 million, while a Bronze medalist received Rs 3 million.  

Apart from that, despite wide publicity given to the promise made by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) to award USD 50,000 to Sprinter Yupun Abeykoon on 7 July, he has not received any word about that either

By Anjana Kaluarachchi