Queen Elizabeth II: 19 September declared day of mourning


President Ranil Wickremesinghe has directed to declare 19 September as a day of mourning in view of the passing of HM Queen Elizabeth II.

Accordingly, directives were issued to the Ministry of Public Administration & Home Affairs to make the necessary arrangements.

The National flag will be hoisted at half-mast until the said date.

UK’s longest-serving monarch, Queen Elizabeth II died at Balmoral aged 96, after reigning for 70 years.