DSS take on Zahira


D.S. Senanayake (DSS) College will take on Zahira College in the Premier Trophy Inter-Schools Under-20 Knock-Out Rugby Tournament final encounter at Havelock Park today.

 Both schools did well in this year’s League Tournament, winning all their matches and earning promotion to Division One Segment ‘A’ next year.

 Ahead of today’s final, DSS registered one- sided victories in the quarter-final against Mahanama (53-0) and the semi-final against Maliyadeva (71-5).

 On other hand, Zahira also moved into the final in style. They defeated Lumbini MV 36-5 in the quarter-final and Thurstan College 23-5 in the semi-final.

 Meanwhile, Piliyandala Central College will face St. John’s College, Nugegoda in the Chairman’s Trophy final at the same venue at 1.45 p.m.