National Council comprising Party Leaders to be set up


Party Leaders reached an agreement yesterday (7) to establish a ‘National Council’ with the representation of all Party Leaders in Parliament to resolve the current economic and political crises in the country.

Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena made this statement. The Party Leaders’ meeting was held in Parliament yesterday (7).

Accordingly, there will be 37 members in the proposed National Council. 

The Speaker will chair the Council and the Prime Minister, Opposition Leader, Leader of the House and Chief Opposition Whip will be members of the Council.