Scrap disposal committee appointed


A committee has been appointed to supervise and implement the disposal of scrap material accumulated in public sector institutions, as per the proposal of the Interim Budget, by Secretary to the President Saman Ekanayake.

The committee comprises Ramya Kanthi (Chairperson), Comptroller General, Comptroller General Department, Treasury, S.U. Chandrakumaran, Additional Director General, Department of Public Finance, General Treasury, J.M.S.N. Jayasinghe, Additional Director General, Department of Public Enterprises, Treasury.

It has been noted that due to the non-disposal of scrap material on time, the Government is losing a considerable amount of revenue. Further, the spaces in the office premises/government buildings are also unnecessarily obstructed and occupied due to the piling up of such material.

Ekanayake, therefore, said it is required to dispose of such material expeditiously. Accordingly, the committee has been tasked with completing the disposal procedure on or before 5 December 2022, adhering in issuing of circular instructions to all the agencies, identification of available scrap material by institutions (Ministry/Department/ Institution), preparation of a list of material to be disposed by the institutions, ensuring the appointment of relevant valuation panels by each agency. The committee also has been tasked with obtaining the valuation list relating to the scrap material from each agency, supervision of the disposal procedure, ensuring the removal of the material after sale, and preparation of a combined report relating to the disposal of scrap materials involving all the institutions.