‘Let’s Build Together’


The United National Party’s 76th Convention was held yesterday (06) at Sugathadasa Stadium in Colombo under the Patronage of President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

 ‘Let’s Build Together’ was the theme of this year’s Convention. This is the first time after 28 years that the UNP has celebrated its Anniversary with a State leadership.

It is also noteworthy that this party convention is being held under a UNP leader who is also the Head of State- an occurrence after 28 years. 

Signifying all alliances aimed at rebuilding the country, all leaders representing political parties in Parliament and others were invited to join the UNP Convention and many of these invitees, including Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena attended the event. 

EPDP Leader Fisheries and Water Resources Minister Douglas Devananda, Minister of Public Security Tiran Alles, Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna General Secretary Parliamentarian Sagara Kariyawasam, Muslim Congress leader SJB Parliamentarian Rauf Hakeem, All Ceylon Muslim Congress Leader and SJB MP Rishad Bathiudeen, Ali Sabri Rahim of the National Muslim Alliance, Member of Parliament for Badulla District of SJB Member Arvind Kumar, Leader of the People’s Congress A.L.M. Ataullah and several others representing other parties joined the celebrations at the Sugathadasa Stadium. 

Minister of Lands and Tourism Harin Fernando, Minister of Labour and Foreign Employment Manusha Nanayakkara, were also present at the UNP Convention.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe garlanded the statue of the party’s Founder D.S. Senanayake kicking off the Convention while floral tribute was paid to the statue of Dudly Senanayake by the Party Deputy Leader Ruwan Wijewardena. Floral tributes were also paid to the statues of Sir John Kothalawala by Assistant Leader Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, J.R. Jayewardene by the United National Party General Secretary Palitha Range Bandara, R. Premadasa by MP Wajira Abeywardena and D.B. Wijetunga by Senior Adviser to the President Sagala Ratnayake.

By Naalir Jamaldeen