Foreign golfers too among participants


More than 80 golfers have registered for the 132nd Sri Lanka Amateur Golf Championship 2022. The qualifying round, which commenced yesterday (5) will continue today (6), and see 32 Gents and 16 Ladies moving forward to the next round.

Some top-class golfers from neighbouring India and Pakistan will also be seen in action at the event that will be held from 5 to 10 September at the Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) course. Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Open Golf Championship, too, will take place concurrently, and the top golfers will earn world ranking points at this event. 

All players had a practice session on the 4th.

The Championship was initiated in 1891 and is the second oldest amateur golf championship in the world after the British Amateur Golf Championship. The inaugural championship was held in Nuwara Eliya in March 1891 and won by J.W. Owen (Nuwara Eliya Golf Club).

The three De Saram brothers Beauchamp, Fred and E.R. became the first Ceylonese to play in the championship in 1912. In 1923 Timothy de Silva became the first Ceylonese to win the championship.

Legendary Pin Fernando made his mark among the British majority amateur golfers after the second world war. He emerged champion a record eleven occasions in a row.

K. Nandasena Perera emerged on the scene in 1983 and captured the renamed Sri Lanka Amateur Golf Championship consecutively for three years from 1988 to 1990.