‘Uththara Lanka Sabhagaya’ launched


‘Uththara Lanka Sabhagaya’, the new movement of the unity of independent parties, was launched yesterday (4) at the National Youth Services Council, Maharagama and office-bearers were announced during the occasion.

Accordingly, National Freedom Front (NFF) Leader MP Wimal Weerawansa was elected Chairman while General Secretary of Sri Lanka Communist Party Dr. G. Weerasinghe was appointed Secretary of the movement.

Democratic Left Front (DLF) Leader MP Vasudeva Nanayakkara was appointed National Organiser and Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) Leader, MP Udaya Gammanpila and General Secretary of Lanka Sama Samaja Party (LSSP) MP Prof. Tissa Vitarana were elected Deputy Chairmen.

MP Gevindu Cumaratunga; Chairman of Yuthukama National Organisation was appointed Deputy Secretary of the Uththara Lanka Sabhagaya.

Wijaya Dharani National Council Chairman MP Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera will act as Advisor to the movement.

In addition, Executive Office Bearers were appointed representing all independent parties. Among them are National Organiser of the NFF MP Jayantha Samaraweera, NFF Propaganda Secretary Mohomad Muzammil and Deputy Chairman of Sri Lanka Communist Party MP Weerasumana Weerasinghe.

MP Weerasinghe welcomed those who participated. Party leaders signed the manifesto of the Uththara Lanka Sabhagaya. The theme song of the movement ‘Siththulapipenasajjananeluma’ (the pure lotus that blooms in the hearts) was unveiled and several cultural performances were also held.

Chairman Weerawansa, Dr. G. Weerasinghe, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Udaya Gammanpila, Prof. TissaVitharana, Gevindu Cumaratunga and Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera addressed the gathering.

MP Dullas Alahapperuma participated with the wishes from the ‘Nidahasa’ People’s Council and Deputy Chairman of the SLFP Thilanga Sumathipala participated.

Officials of the Chinese, Russian, Iran and Vietnam Embassies and Indian High Commission also participated.