Unbeaten Isipathana hold the edge


Unbeaten Isipathana will be all out to continue their winning streak when they confront a spirited S. Thomas’ in the semi-final at Havelock Park on 2 September. Kick-off is at 4.00 p.m.

Isipathana lived up to expectations by winning all their matches so far in the league, and the knock out quarter-final against Dharmaraja, which turned out to be a one-horse race.

Meanwhile, Thomians had a mixed season. Though fielding one of the best outfits, they lost a couple of matches in the league, but stormed back magnificently to hand off Vidyartha in their quarter-final encounter.

Both teams possess a very good three-quarter line, while their forwards are mobile and strong.

Isipathana is led by Dahan Nethina, while Thomians are led by crack number 8, Chariya Kurukulasuriya.

Green Shirts are coached by the knowledgeable Saliya Kumara, who is also the national women’s sevens coach, while the experienced Shamly Nawas is in charge of the Mount Lavinia outfit.

Thomians have some outstanding players like Reshane Dwight, Chariya Kurukulasuriya, Hasith Ramanayake and Yehan Bulathsinhalage in their starting line-up.

Meanwhile, the Green Shirts comprise quality players such as Wewala Panditha, Malith Methsara and Naveen Kanishka .

Isipathana skipper Dahan Nithina has been ruled out of today’s game due to a leg injury, and the team will be led by winger Praveen Stephan, while Thomians are led by crack number 8 Chariya Kurukulasuriya.

Referee Ishanka Abeykoon

2 Sept – Havelock Park (semi-finals)

10.00 a.m. Chairman Trophy – Piliyandala CC vs Sri Rahula

2.00 p.m. Premier Trophy – D.S. Senanayake vs Maliyadeva

4.00 p.m. President Trophy – Isipathana vs S. Thomas’

By Special Correspondent