Two new Deputy Governors for CBSL soon


The Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL) completed interviews to appoint two new Deputy Governors of the CBSL last weekend, a top CBSL official said.

It is stated that the two shortlisted names have been submitted to President Ranil Wickremesinghe as the capacity of Minister of Finance for his consent.

It is stated that the relevant appointments are to be announced as soon as the relevant consent is received.

According to seniority, Assistant Governors namely R. A. A. Jayalath , Monetary Board Secretary, Mrs. K. M. A. N. Daulagala, J. P. R. Karunaratne   and A. A. M.  Thassim were the shortlisted names for the vacancies.

Mrs. K. M. A. N. Daulagala, is the official who coordinated the forensic audit of the CBSL based on the controversial bonds scam.

Since the appointment of Mahinda Siriwardena, Deputy Governor of CBSL as Finance Ministry Secretary, and former Deputy Governor  Dhammika Nanayakkara’s early retirement, two Deputy Governor positions had been vacant for several months.

By Ishara Gamage