‘Independent’ SLPP MPs to lose positions?


Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) Parliamentarians who sat in the Opposition as an Independent Group in Parliament yesterday (31), will be ousted from any positions held within the party, SLPP MP Rohitha Abeygunawardena said.

He added that such MPs became independent a long time ago and were against the Government, while stating that they have acted against the party policies and will thereby be ousted from their relevant positions in the party.

SLPP Chairman Professor. G.L. Peiris and MPs Dullas Alahapperuma, Attorney-at-Law Dilan Perera, Dr. Nalaka Godahewa, Professor Charitha Herath, Professor Channa Jayasumana, K.P.S. Kumarasiri, Dr. Gunapala Ratnasekara, Attoney-at-Law Udayana Kirindigoda, Dr. Upul Galappatti, Dr. Thilak Rajapaksa, Attorney-at-Law Wasantha Yapa, and Lalith Ellawala, sat in the Opposition as an Independent Group yesterday (31).

Moreover, General Secretary, Sagara Kariyawasam also previously said there will be changes in key positions in the party. He said steps will also be taken to oust those who were against SLPP decisions in the recent past from their respective positions held in the party.

Kariyawasam said such changes will be made at the Party Convention scheduled for next month.

He also said certain SLPP MPs are hatching a conspiracy to achieve their separate political aspirations, adding that they have also succeeded in making use of the economic crisis for political benefit.

By Faadhila Thassim