13 SLPP MPs defect


Thirteen SLPP MPs including Party Chairman Prof. G.L. Peiris announced yesterday (31 August) in Parliament that they will take seats in the Opposition as an independent group.

Prof. Peiris making a statement at the commencement of yesterday’s (31 August) Parliamentary Sitting said MPs Dullas Alahapperuma, Dilan Perera, Dr. Nalaka Godahewa, Dr. Charitha Herath, Dr. Channa Jayasumana, K.P.S. Kumarasiri, Gunapala Rathnasekara, Udayana Kirindigoda, Wasantha Yapa Bandara, Dr. Upul Galappaththi, Dr. Thilak Rajapakse and Lalith Ellawala will take seats in the Opposition with him.

Prof. Peiris said the pledges given by the SLPP to the general public are completely different from what is happening in the country right now.

“Our supporters have become disheartened because of this. There should be an intervention to correct this situation. We have a responsibility to deliver the promises we gave to the people. That is why we took this decision,” he said.

Speaking further, Prof. Peiris vowed they would take legal action if any attempt is made to postpone the Local Government election which is due for more than three years.

“The Government should not postpone LG elections and Provincial Council elections anymore. The Government should also go for a general election to form a new government as an interim government has been formed now. People have the sovereignty according to the Constitution. No one can suppress the people’s electoral right,” he said.

By Methmalie Dissanayake