Tier A & B commences first week of September


The Under-19 Inter Schools Division One Cricket tournament conducted by Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association (SLSCA) and sponsored by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) will commence from the first week of September.

This year’s tournament will be conducted under two formats. The first format is the Limited Overs which will run from first week of September to last week of October. The first-round will be completed on 12 October.

Division One and Division Two will comprise Tier A and B. 18 schools in Division One Tier A and 18 schools in Division Two are divided into two groups comprising 9 teams, and each team will play 8 matches on a league basis in the first-round at their respective home grounds. 4 teams from each group will qualify for the quarter-finals which will start from 16 October.

Similarly, while Division One Tier B comprise 18 teams, Division Two Tier B will comprise 17 teams and follow the same format as Tier A and B above.

St. Joseph’s Colombo emerged champions of Division One Tier A in 2020/21 and 2021/22. Royal Colombo was runner-up in the 2020/21 season and Richmond Galle last season 2021/22.

Mahinda Galle and St. Peter’s Bambalapitiya emerged champions of Division One Tier B the last 2 seasons 2020/21 and 2021/22. Devapathiraja Rathgama and Thurstan Colombo were the runners-up.

Sri Sumangala Panadura emerged champions of Division 2 Tier A the last 2 seasons. St. Sebastian’s Katuneriya was the runner-up last season.

P. De S. Kularathne MV Ambalangoda and Taxila Central College were declared joint champions of Tier B last season.

The second format, the two-day tournament, will commence from 20 December and conclude on 15 February 2023.  

 Division One – Tier ‘A’ (Limited Overs)

Group X – St. Joseph›s Colombo, Mahanama Colombo, Nalanda Colombo, St. Benedict’s Kotahena, Trinity, Royal Colombo, Prince of Wales Moratuwa, St. Anne’s Kurunegala, St. Thomas Matara

Group Y – Richmond Galle, De Mazenod Kandana, St. Anthony’s Kandy, Wesley Colombo, Maliyadeva Kurunegala, St. Sebestian’s Moratuwa, Gurukula Kelaniya, S. Thomas’ Mt. Lavinia, D.S. Senanayake Colombo,

Tier ‘B’ (Limited Overs)

Group X – St. Peter›s Bambalapitiya, Isipathana, Moratu Vidyalaya, St. Sylvester’s Kandy, Ananda Colombo, Dharmasoka Ambalangoda, St. Servatius Matara, Dharmapala Pannipitiya, St. Joseph Vaz Wennappuwa

Group Y – Thurstan Colombo, Maris Stella Negombo, Lumbini Colombo, Mahinda Galle, Devapathiraja Rathgama, St. Aloysius Galle, Dharmaraja Kandy, Zahira Colombo, St. Anthony’s Wattala  

Under-19 Division Two  

Tier ‘A’ (Limited Overs)

Group X – Sri Sumangala Panadura, Tissa Central Kalutara, Lyceum Wattala, Vidyartha Kandy, St. John’s Panadura, Holy Cross Kalutara, Sri Dharmaloka Kelaniya, St. Peter’s Negombo, Karandeniya CC

 Group Y – St. Sebastian’s Katuneriya, Sri Devananda Ambalangoda, Kalutara Vidyalaya, St. John’s Jaffna, Galahitiyawa CC, Rahula Matara, Piliyandala CC, Anuradhapura CC, Siri Piyarathana MMV Padukka,

 Tier ‘B’ (Limited Overs)

 Group X –   P. De S. Kularatne MV Ambalangoda, President’s Kotte, Christ King Ja-Ela, St. Mary’s Kegalle, Henegama CC, St. Mary’s Chilaw, Kingswood Kandy, Asoka Vidyalaya Colombo

Group Y – Taxila CC Horana, Bandaranayake Gampaha, Sri J’pura MV Kotte, Royal Panadura, St. Thomas Matale, Sri Rahula Katugastota, Dudley Senanayake CC Tholangamuwa, Revatha Balapitiya, Kegalu Vidyalaya