New COPF meeting commences under Dr. de Silva


The first meeting of the Committee on Public Finance (COPF) of the Third Session of the Ninth Parliament was held yesterday (23) under the chairmanship of Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Dr. Harsha de Silva.

In accordance with the Standing Order 121, the Committee of Selection appointed Dr. de Silva, as the Chairman of COPF.

Accordingly, the Appropriation (Amendment) Bill to amend the Appropriation Act No. 30 of 2021 was considered at the committee meeting and approved. Furthermore, the Social Security Contribution Levy Bill was also approved.

Regulations under the Foreign Exchange Act, No. 12 of 2017, Order under the Special Commodity Levy Act, No. 48 of 2007 and a Resolution under the Customs Ordinance (Chapter 235) also received approval of the COPF.