Colombo North and Kandy win on day one


A fine all-round performance by Koojana Perera (51 and 4/39) saw Colombo North win by 3 wickets against Galle in a first-round fixture in Dambulla on Monday. 

The tournament commenced on the 22nd with the participation of 5 teams –

Colombo North, Colombo South, Galle, Kandy and Dambulla – aiming for the Youth World Cup in 2024.

These 5 teams will compete on a league basis in the first-round. The top two teams based on the points table will meet in the final on 29 August at Rangiri Dambulla stadium. The island’s best 65 schoolboys were picked by Sri Lanka National Juniors Cricket selection panel to represent the 5 teams.

Other batters who scored half centuries were Uneth Pieris (Colombo South), Dinura Kalupahana (Galle), Lakvin Abeysinghe (Kandy), Pulindu Perera (Kandy) and Jayavi Liyanagama (Kandy). Sheshan Yashon (Kandy) claimed 4 wickets for 17 runs against Colombo South. 

In Dambulla 
(Colombo North won by 3 wickets)

Galle: 194 (48.5) (Dinura Kalupahana 56, Senitha Helambage 49, Sandew Gamage 24, Koojana Perera 4/39, Thanusha Palihawadana 2/29)

Colombo North: 195/7 (48.4) (Koojana Perera 51, Samindu Madhuranga 37, Vihas Thewmika 30, Hiran Jayasundara 28, Senitha Helambage 3/39, Sandu Dilshan 2/29)

In Kurunegala
(Kandy won by 125 runs)

Kandy: 293/8 (50) (Lakvin Abeysinghe 54, Pulindu Perera 54, Jayavi Liyanagama 52, Nipun Waduge 26, Kavindu Dias 3/38, Randeesha Bandara 2/60, Vishwa Lahiru 2/66)   

Colombo South: 168 (37.1) (Uneth Pieris 64, Rusith Jayawardene 31, Sheshan Yashon 4/17, Manula Kularathne 2/51, Akila Wickramasinghe 2/51)


25 – Colombo North vs Colombo South in Dambulla

Galle vs Dambulla in Kurunegala

26 – Dambulla vs Colombo South in Dambulla

Kandy vs Colombo North in Kurunegala

28 – Kandy vs Galle in Dambulla

Colombo North vs Dambulla in Kurunegala

29 – Final