All-Party Oversight Committees in place of APG


As attempts to establish an All-Party Government (APG) or administration have failed so far, President Ranil Wickremesinghe has decided to form all-party Sectoral Oversight Committees in Parliament, Ceylon Today learns.

Accordingly, it has been planned to appoint Opposition MPs as chairpersons of the Sectoral Oversight Committees and grant them perks similar to Cabinet Ministers.

It is reported that a group of SJB MPs and Samagi Jana Sandhanaya members will be appointed to the posts of the Sectoral Oversight Committees.

Ceylon Today also learns that Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa has given his approval for the MPs to go for discussions if they receive invitations regarding the committees.

Seventeen Sectoral Oversight Committees in Parliament were established under the 19th Amendment to the Constitution. They were abolished after the 20th Amendment was passed.

The President has reportedly decided to establish 19 Sectoral Oversight Committees.

Parliament sources said, the establishment of these committees would be announced next week when Parliament commenced.

BY J.T. de Silva