Mahesh Weerasinghe re-elected President, Kandy SC


Mahesh Weerasinghe was re-appointed President of Kandy Sports Club for the 2022/23 rugby season at the recent AGM which took place at their Club House last weekend in Nittawela. 

 Former Trinitian Sujeewa Liyanage was appointed Secretary and Upali Silva, Treasurer. Former Trinity Hooker, Damith Dissanayake, who has performed yeoman service for the Club, was appointed skipper. He has been playing for the Club since 2011.

 As a tribute to Roshan Weeraratne, one of the best scrum halves produced by Kingswood, Kandy SC and Sri Lanka, who is migrating to Ireland with his spouse, part of the pavilion has been named after him for the great service rendered to the club.

 Kandy SC won the League 22 times during the last 27 years and the Clifford Cup 21 times in 23 years. This is a tremendous achievement for the only club playing ‘A’ division rugby outside Colombo. Along with their principal sponsor, Cargills, all round discipline has played a vital part in their success. 

 From 2020 to 2022, under coach Fazil Marija and skipper Nigel Ratwatte. Kandy SC holds the unique record of not having lost a single game – home or away.

 Speaking to Ceylon Today, Trustee of the Club (former Royal Scrum Half) Malik Samarawickrema said: “We named a stand in honour of Roshan who rendered yeoman service to our club since 2010. He has been an automatic choice for the national team, both in sevens and XVs. He is one of the best scrum halves to represent Sri Lanka, and is in the caliber of Tony Sirimanne, Denzil Kobbekaduwa and Roland Rodrigo. Roshan will continue to play club rugby in Ireland. During this period, we have some outstanding players who retired, such as Shehan Pathirana, Jason Dissanayake and Buvanaka Udangamuwa, who rendered an immense service for the club. We want to bring in young blood to the committee. Already we are working in this area and will see many new faces in the near future to take the club forward.” 

2022/23 Committee

Patron: Ranjit Page

Trustees: Malik Samarawickrema, Sarath Perera, Mahesh Weerasinghe

President: Mahesh Weerasinghe

Senior Vice President: Lasantha Wijesuriya

Vice Presidents: Janaka Pathirana, Anton Nanayakkara

Secretary: Sujeewa Liyanage

Treasurer: Upali Silva

Ground Secretary: Kapila Silva

Social Secretary: Arfath Abdeen

Bar Secretary: Anuruddha Ranasinghe

Legal Consultant: Mohamed Jiffry

Committee Members: Abdul Rasheed, C. Marasinghe, S. Malarselvam, Dr. Anura Welikala, Hemantha Yatawara, Ashan Ratwatte, Saliya Kumara, Fazil Marija, Nigel Ratwatte, Hafiz Marikkar

 Sri Lanka Rugby Rep: Ashan Ratwatte

Central Province Rep: Kapila Silva

By Special Correspondent