Ban on Six Int’l Tamil Organisations Lifted


The Defence Ministry, issuing a Gazette Notification, has delisted six international Tamil organisations and 316 persons that were proscribed as terrorist organisations or individuals involved in terrorism, by amending the list of designated persons published in the November 2016 Gazette Extraordinary No. 1992/25.

The six Tamil Diaspora organisations that were delisted include the Australian Tamil Congress (ATC), Global Tamil Forum (GTF), the World Tamil Coordinating Committee (WTCC), the Tamil Eelam People’s Assembly(TEPA), the Canadian Tamil Congress (CTC) and the  British Tamil Forum.

The Government has decided so to attract foreign investments from the Tamil Diaspora community as the country is facing a severe financial meltdown.

However, due to being proscribed for the second time, these entities have been raising their voices urging the government to pave way for them to invest and develop the North and East among other support.

The Ministry of Defence issued a 30-page Gazette Notification, signed by Ministry Secretary Gen Kamal Gunaratne, amending the list of designated persons under Regulation 4(7) of the United Nations Regulations No. 1 of 2012.

The Listed Persons and Entities, under the United Nations Security Council Resolution, stood at 1,373 with Persons  numbering 577 and 18 Entities and the proposed de listing of persons and entities, under United Nations Security Council Resolution,…

 would be now with 309 persons (7 Name with the duplicates)  and six Entities as stated above.

Also, the proposed entities to be listed from the Designated List are the Dharul Adhar alias Jamiul Athar Mosque aka DharulAthar Quran Madrasa aka Dharul Aadhaar Ath’thabawiyya, SLISM (Sri Lanka Islamic Student Movement), and the Save the Pearls aka Save the Pearl Society.

The following organisations will remain proscribed in the list of designated persons and organisations; the LTTE (Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam), TRO (Tamil Rehabilitation Organization), TCC (Tamil Coordinating Committee), WTM (World Tamil Movement), the TGTE (Transnational Government of Tamil Eelam), the WTRF (World Tamil Relief Fund), the HQ GROUP (Headquarters Group), the NTJ (National ThowheedJama’ath), the JMI (Jama’athe Milla’athe Ibrahim), the Willayath As Seylani, the NCCT (National Council of Canadian Tamil), the TYO (Tamil Youth Organization), the Dharul Adhar alias Jamiul Athar Mosque aka Dharul Athar Quran Madrasa aka DharulAadhaar Ath’thabawiyya, the  SLISM (Sri Lanka Islamic Student Movement) and the Save the Pearls aka Save the Pearl Society, the Ministry of Defence said yesterday (14).

By Sulochana Ramiah Mohan